Daily Archives: May 13, 2017

Self-Care Saturday: Mother’s Day

Have you ever seen the episode of The Middle where Frankie is upset because her mom wants to just do her own thing for Mother’s Day?

There’s a good lesson in that episode, under the manufactured drama. Mother’s Day is supposed to be about celebrating moms. We celebrate our children every day, and while it is nice to see them give back in their own sweet ways, we as conscious, thinking adults should remember that we can make our own celebration, too.

As part of Self-Care Saturday, I want you to think about what you would want most for Mother’s Day, and whether or not it is really what you are going to receive. Then, I want you to vow to do something to work toward that goal. Depending on your financial situation, I understand some of your daydreams may not be realistic, but you can always break things down into small parts and work on something that is feasible.

For example, last year, what I wanted with all my heart was to organize my craft room; we have a four bedroom house for just the three of us (well, 4, before my mother-in-law left), and we had the spare room, but we were still paying medical bills, so there was not a whole lot of money. I asked my husband to just get me a card for Mother’s Day, and I took the money he would have spent and bought myself three storage cubes and shelving and made myself a desk for my craft room for half if not a third of the price of any similar pre-fab desks.

It turned out pretty nice, too (though the picture is blurry):

13123248_10102627104024682_5555010209962717960_o

This year, I’ll be spending about $50 on some craft supplies for projects I want to do while I’m on vacation!