Daily Archives: August 1, 2017

Together Tuesday: Togetherness After Vacation 

So, my family just spent the last week together, mainly without TV or internet or even our phones (though for me that wasn’t entirely by choice), a lot of which was also spent in the car or in hotel rooms. Even when we stayed the night at family or friends’ houses, we still all slept in the same room.

Surprisingly, we aren’t all sick of each other, and Baby Girl isn’t even sick of car rides, even though we clocked almost 2,000 miles over the course of the week.

What’s my secret? Well, I think it was a combination of things: first, we stopped a lot during the ride out and back; rather than just get fast food, we tried to stop at places that had a mall or a park where we could run around and she could play. Looking back, I would have tried to plan that part a little better and hopefully in the near future there will be an updated vacation planner that takes this into consideration. We did get stuck in one place that was supposed to have a kid’s play area that we could never find.

The other thing was, this was a trip to see family. Baby Girl (and myself and my husband) all got to see people other than just us three, so while we were together all the time, there were other people who broke up the monotony.

I’m not sure how that could translate for non-family-visiting vacations, though. Plan a vacation jointly with another family, perhaps? (Even if it’s just your siblings and their kids.) My family took vacations like that several times when I was little.

That’s all for now. I promise this vacation recap won’t go on much longer – I’ve got to go back to work in two weeks!

