Daily Archives: August 4, 2017

Flashback Friday: Sleeping in a Crib

I’ve been thinking a lot of Baby Girl’s sleeping arrangements since we went on vacation. She slept in her playpen in our room while we were on the road, and obviously since we’ve been back, she has been in her crib in her nursery.

… She has woken up at least once in the middle of the night every night since we’ve been back.

So, that got me thinking about when she first started sleeping in the crib. I wrote a few weeks ago about how she slept in a bassinet for the first six months of her life.
And then I mentioned that she transitioned easily and left it at that.

Allow me to elaborate now. 

“Transitioned easily” is a relative term. I found it to be easy because she allowed me to put her down in the crib and stayed asleep, even though it was much bigger than her bassinet, which had kept her warm and snug. 

She still woke up in the middle of the night. For a while, I tried nursing her in bed like I had before, but the process took longer (because she was more awake from the extra movement) and I was afraid we would wake up or keep my husband awake. 

So I started nursing her downstairs on the couch.

I don’t recommend this. I have probably lost more sleep from her waking when I tried to take her upstairs than I want to think about. I know there have been sleep deprived nights where I was not 100% at work because of it.

I recommend, instead, to get a comfy chair and put it in the nursery or somewhere that is close by. If the nursery and the living room are on the same floor, you may be able to get away with that instead, but for the love of good sleep, minimize that space between where you nurse and where your little bundle of joy sleeps!

The worst part of all this? Her nursery is HUGE. There was plenty of room for a comfortable rocking chair up there. I just didn’t know how nice – and useful- it would be to have one until it was too late.