Working Wednesday: The Side Hustle

So, I suppose someday this blog could be considered a side hustle, but for right now, it’s not – it’s just a fun place for me to jot my thoughts down and put up the recipes and planners and strange parenting ideas I have.

I don’t have a real, consistent side hustle, even though it feels like everyone and their mother has one these days.

What I do have, however, is opportunities to make a little money during the course of my normal work. You see, sometimes my presentations or publications (or in one case, a book review) come with compensation called an honorarium.

Obviously this is something that is probably confined to the realm of academia, but consider your own career. If you aren’t ready to step into the added responsibilities of another job, is there anything related to your career that you could take on a case by case basis? 

I do advise you look up your employer’s regulations on this kind of activity, but perhaps there is consultation you could do? 

Or, failing that, is there a hobby you have that could help you make extra money?

The goal here is to not add to your stress, while still adding to your bottom line.

Leave a Reply

