Daily Archives: October 12, 2017

Time To… Thursday: Time To Re-evaluate 

Hot on the heels of me feeling like I’m under-performing has been this incredible need to re-evaluate my life. I don’t think I’ve changed a lot in the last four years since I moved to my current town and started my career as a faculty librarian, but I would be fooling myself if I thought that I hadn’t changed at all.

Being in a real job in your field, changes you.

Getting married, changes you.

Buying a house, changes you.

Having a baby, changes you.

These are all major life milestones. Any one of these things should have me re-evaluating my life – and they’ve all happened in the space of four years. So, yes, I need to re-evaluate, make sure that the choices I have made are still the right choices for me and what to do about it if they aren’t. 

But that involves being able to have some time to myself to think.

I haven’t felt like I’ve had that lately. But starting today, I’m going to try to find some, even if it’s retreating to my office this evening for a half an hour or so before going home. I don’t have to re-evaluate my life all at once, after all! And it might be a good idea to think about “home” at work, and “work” at home – that way I’m away from the little annoyances and can think about things a little more clearly.

I may even develop some worksheets to go along with this! I find everything is easier when I write it down.

