Daily Archives: October 13, 2017

Flashback Friday: Breastfeeding and Working 

I can’t believe I’ve never talked about this before. It’s such a hot-button topic and I’ve been completely neglecting it. Well, not completely… I did vaguely mention it in this post about my first day back at work after maternity leave.

I am talking, of course, about breastfeeding, and trying to align that with my work schedule. I at least never had the problem of where to pump; I have my own office and once I solved the problem of the little window in the door, I as able to pump in relative peace, with the door locked, Locking the door was a little bit weird for me at first; around here we rarely even close our doors when we’re in our offices, but of course, I needed the privacy.

And, thankfully, we never really had much of a problem with getting Baby Girl to breastfeed on a schedule. In fact, when she was nursing for sustenance instead of comfort, things were actually much easier, because she’d get full and stop.

No such luck these days, and it is making her transition into a big girl bed much harder, but I digress…

She did take a bottle once or twice a day, depending on my work schedule, especially in those first months where she was nursing ever 2 to 3 hours. When she was two weeks old, her pediatrician flipped out because she hadn’t gained weight since her visit the week before and tried to guilt me into supplementing with formula right away. I stood my ground and he scheduled a follow up appointment where she had gained a reasonable amount – the key, as far as I can remember, was that she kept falling asleep while she was nursing and not actually getting full! But that was before I even went back to work. When I went back, it was smooth sailing; I had started pumping two weeks before, so we had milk stocked up and I quickly got a handle on pumping on a schedule. She would go from the bottle to breast and back again, no problem.

… I guess maybe that’s why I’ve never talked about it before. It’s hard to give advice when you never had any problems.

I guess my best advice is to start pumping early, if you can; make sure there is somewhere you can pump before you need it (ideally before you go back to work), and try to get your child to adjust to switching back and forth between the breast and the bottle before they have to, so there aren’t unpleasant surprises.

