Self-Care Saturday: How’s My Self-Care Going?

I’m going to level with you: I’m still not doing great at self-care. I suppose it has a lot to do with my Queen Bee mentality, but I am finding that unless I am forced to think about myself (like, say, by my dear husband), my default is to completely ignore myself until I implode. And obviously, imploding is bad.

Some of my implosions lately, though, I feel were unavoidable. For example, I had a small implosion at the end of the day last Friday, after that conference I attended that zapped me of my motivation (or, perhaps, more accurately, did not bolster my motivation the way I had hoped it would.) And things have gotten unceremoniously dumped in my lap in ways that leave me asking, “Well, what the hell am I supposed to do with that.”

In an effort to combat that, especially with yard sale season (and my self-care routine that goes with it) winding down for the year, I have started something new. Every morning, I identify five ways that I can practice self-care throughout the day. I try to pick a variety of things, and I always write them down. The goal when I do, is not to do all of them (although that would be awesome.) The goal is instead to do at least one of them.

I find that if I have the options in front of me, it makes it easier to follow through. I have been fairly successful at it, too, but I only just started on Tuesday, so I am reserving judgement on whether or not it has actually helped. I’ll let you guys know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

